The Sharecropper

the making of things: food, wine, art, home

Gluten Free Cornbread from The Sharecropper Kitchen

Gluten Free Cornbread from The Sharecropper Kitchen

Cornbread is easy to make once you have done it a few times. And it is so delicious right out of the oven with butter! The recipe can be as simple or complex as you like but basically it is 1 part flour to 1 part cornmeal with a little baking powder, an egg or two, butter, salt, and milk. The rest is up to your imagination.

For this batch I used gluten free all-purpose flour from Gluten Free Pantry and cornmeal from Bobs Red Mill.

So put 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of cornmeal in a mixing bowl and add 4 teaspoons of baking powder (if you go with self rising flour you can omit the baking powder) and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Mix that up and for the next part I like to use frozen butter grated with a cheese grater. Grate about a half stick or more if you prefer a more rich flavor.  I use 3/4 of a stick. Mix that up a little before you add your egg/s. I use 2 eggs but you can get away with 1. Its up to you to experiment and see what you like. Now its time to add a cup of milk. Mix this all together til its an even consistency. If it is a bit thick just add more milk. Place this batter in an 8×8 pyrex or pour it into a cast iron skillet. Use whatever. Here I used two bread loaf pans.

Now for the fancy stuff. If you want to get all crazy you can add cheeses, green chiles, and bacon. A nice sharp cheddar works well and for chiles I like the Hatch brand from New Mexico if I am buying them but I tend to fire roast a lot of peppers and chiles myself. For the bacon I would cook it in the oven and grind a liberal amount of fresh black pepper on it and then chop it up into bits and add it to the batter. Remember to adjust the amount of salt if you are using bacon. Its pretty salty on its own.

And no matter what fancy stuff you add  try to always add a little oregano and garlic powder. These items are always within an arms reach in my kitchen. I probably use more than most people but I find that they add a nice depth to the flavor of almost everything. I add them to my biscuit dough, my eggs, my chicken marinades, the uses are endless. I always pour the oregano into my palm first and grind it in between my hands before adding it as this release the most flavor.

Happy cooking and remember if you have any questions just ask them in the comment section below and I will be glad to answer them.

Thanks.

Coming soon I will show you a deeply southern recipe for Greens that goes amazing with Cornbread….

Leave a Reply

