The Sharecropper

the making of things: food, wine, art, home

The Wine Barrel Adirondack Chair from The Sharecropper Workshop

The Sharecropper Workshop-Wine Barrel Adirondack Chair

I have always wanted to build an Adirondack chair. I had some weathered wood on hand and decided to give it a go and see what I could create. After a few Wine Barrel Chair projects I had some leftover staves that weren’t needed for any other projects so I decided to throw them into the mix as well.

The Sharecropper Workshop-Wine Barrel Adirondack Chair

I wanted a pretty angular design. Something with a simple aesthetic and nice weathered texture. I had to some ripping to create the right sizes of wood in order to put this build together. These are barrel staves being used for the seat.

The Sharecropper Workshop-Wine Barrel Adirondack Chair

Here is a mock up. This was done late at night after a few glasses of wine…

The Sharecropper Workshop-Wine Barrel Adirondack Chair

Here is my shop helper Taco. I found him on the street on a recent trip to the valley outside LA. He is just a pup. So far his whiskers do a good job of keeping the floor relatively clean.

The Sharecropper Workshop-Wine Barrel Adirondack Chair

Here you see I went with staves for the arms as well. I think it added a nice visual element and it is a very strong support. The anchor board behind the backrest is a cut down piece of stave as well as I thought this would help keep the chair nice and sturdy.

The Sharecropper Workshop-Wine Barrel Adirondack Chair

In the arm I cut out a nice little wine glass holder to keep your wine nice and safe.

Cheers!

The Sharecropper

The Sharecropper Workshop-Wine Barrel Adirondack Chair

Taco thinks this chair is comfy.

$350 and its all yours.

Taco takes a cut….

Leave a Reply

