The Sharecropper

the making of things: food, wine, art, home

Fig Sauce from the Sharecropper Kitchen

Future Fig Sauce from the Sharecropper Kitchen

I have been very fortunate lately. I have had a steady stream of peppers, tomatoes, tomatillos, and figs to play with and use for developing ideas for various sauces. Last night, however, I used all of them in one sauce and I must say WOW!

In the upper dish is a combination of black mission figs fresh from a friends backyard, tomatillos and tomatoes from the FoodCharmers yard, and below are the fire roasted serrano peppers from another friends yard.

I am lucky to have friends with gardens.

So if you are feeling adventurous here is what I suggest you do: take some tomatoes, serrano peppers, and tomatillos and roast them over a smokey oak fire til they are pleasantly charred and cooked thoroughly. In a pan cook the figs, about 15 of them, in a mix olive oil and butter (about an 1/8 cup olive oil and a 1/2 stick of butter). I like to keep the figs on one side of the pan while I add about 5-8 cloves of fresh pressed garlic to saute. As the garlic  gets nice and browned I start to stir it around with the figs. After about ten minutes I add the tomatillos and tomatoes that are fresh off the grill. Also added are a couple of tablespoons of oregano, a teaspoon of sea salt, and two cups of 08 Tercero Rose’. I let the whole thing cook down for about a half hour to forty minutes until the color is super deep.

While the fig concoction is cooking I have taken the serrano peppers off the grill and let them cool so I can skin and seed them, well not all of them because I want some kick. I put them in the blender where they will await their marriage with the sauce from the pan.

Now it is time to blend it all together. Once it has gained an even consistency, which will be pretty thick so ya know, I add balsamic vinegar (around a 1/4 to 1/2 cup depending on your palate) to taste which adds a really nice flavor to this sauce and is a nice balance to the sweetness of the figs.

This sauce is thick by the way. And has some zing. And I swear you will want to put it on everything. It also makes a great base for other saucy delights…

One comment on “Fig Sauce from the Sharecropper Kitchen

  1. Jessica Teona Schley
    October 8, 2012

    Mmm! I can’t wait to taste this.

Leave a Reply

